Not Able To Preview The Pictures - No Thumbnail

Aug 19, 2014

I have a problem here, in the last two days, I can't see any preview of my pictures (not only pictures, but videos too). I've tried cleaning the old thumbnails using Disk Cleanup, but no work. Trying to untick the "Always show icon, not thumnail" in Folder Options, don't work too. Here is the screenshot:

View 9 Replies


Thumbnail Pictures Deleted - How To Restore

Jan 29, 2014

My problem is that all my thumbnails that would normally show as the actual picture in any file or folder including ones saved to the desktop have all been replaced with a windows generic mountain and sun cartoon. The only way I can see what any individual picture file is to physically click on it and open it up in a viewer. This is a royal pain to try to find any individual picture to say the least.

.I get a error message saying restore could not be completed...try choosing a different restore date.........I have tried them all.....same error message

View 9 Replies View Related

Customizing Taskbar - Remove Thumbnail Preview

Nov 20, 2013

How do I remove the thumbnail preview thing form the windows on the task bar? I'm finding them to be more annoying than useful.

How do I make new windows open at the end of the task bar, rather than beside similar windows?

View 5 Replies View Related

Permanently Display Video Player Taskbar Preview Thumbnail?

Mar 4, 2014

Is there a way to make this taskbar thumbnail preview stay visible permanently ?

So I can continue using the PC / Browsing etc and have that preview stay active ?

View 3 Replies View Related

8.1 Pro - Can't Preview Any Files Other Than Pictures

Sep 15, 2014

This is a 64-bit system running 8.1 Pro. I am unable to preview any files (.doc, .docx, .txt, .pdf, .xlsx, etc.) in the preview pane of File/Windows Explorer. I can preview pictures, but that's it. The only thing that I've been able to find online are uncheck "Always show icons, never thumbnails" and using the Adobe Reader preview handler x64 fixer tool. Neither of these solutions have worked. What else can I try?

View 3 Replies View Related

Stripped Pictures In Picture Preview?

Mar 18, 2014

Windows 8.1 pictures are stripped in the small preview so i can't see what i'm opening until i've opened it. It is fine once it is open just when it is smaller?

View 9 Replies View Related

How To Remove Pictures From Row At Lock Screen Preview

Mar 18, 2014

I made the mistake of including family photos in the lock screen choices.

I am trying to remove family pictures from the row at the lock screen preview. I don't want to change a lot of other things along the way if possible. I was hoping I could just right click the 3 family pictures and remove them but they won't go. The piano is the one I see and that is alright but the 3 to the right are the ones I want to clear. Is there a way to do this?

View 9 Replies View Related

Explorer Preview Pane Not Showing Preview

Feb 13, 2013

I went from XP to Windows 8 Pro. With XP, a pictures folder allowed the icons to represent a small version of the picture; the filmstrip option was a nice bonus.

With Windows 8, the icon, no matter what size, has a generic look to it--same for all the pictures. I enable Preview Pane, and the same thing happens. No preview of the picture on the preview pane, just a much larger generic icon.

I see screen views on the web of it actually working, but I can't get it to.

View 3 Replies View Related

Windows 8 Resetting Thumbnail Cache?

Jun 15, 2013

Every time I turn my laptop on, I lose my thumbnails and it has to reload them. I've tried today to go through a few refreshes/reinstalls, and I'll occasionally be able to keep them, but then I just start losing them again.

View 2 Replies View Related

Thumbnail Windows In Taskbar Disappear?

Apr 22, 2014

I have some trouble with thumbnail windows in tasks bar. A few days ago, maybe after official last windows update, but not sure, I found a very vexing bug in task bar. When I hover on task bar icons, the thumbnail windows pop-up and when I hover in it all the preview windows is goind under the opened windows but the thumbnail windows is still accessible so I even can close it but I can't see it. It's very inconvenient especially with couple of opened windows.

View 2 Replies View Related

Icon / Thumbnail Preservation - Windows 8.1

Aug 3, 2014

'Thumbnails deleted' issue, or Icon / Thumbnail Preservation - Windows 8.1

EDIT:I've tried a host of different settings and tweaks. On normal shutdown/startup most settings seemed to preserve the icon/thumbnail cache, but a 'restart' always seems to spoil it!...Until I changed: Registry - HKCUSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsDWM - 'AlwaysHibernateThumbnails' value to 1(hex)

View 9 Replies View Related

Taskbar Thumbnail Previews Not Appearing - Tooltip Instead

Apr 30, 2014

Every since I updated my 8.1 to update 1 I have this annoying bug, the taskbar miniatures stop appearing and instead i have this annoying tooltip with whatever program's name I hovered last, that insists in staying above all other windows:

The only way to fix it is rebooting my computer, but it just comes back after a while.

I haven't found any link to any open program, any way I can debug this to find out why this is happening? I'm close to formatting the computer because of this annoyance.

View 7 Replies View Related

Thumbnail At The Bottom Of Folder Window Missing

Apr 3, 2014

On the other Windows PCs I've used, there has always been a small thumbnail at the bottom of the window showing details of the item/photo selected, but with Window 8, this is missing.

Some details are there, but they are not easy to take in at a glance and I really miss the thumbnail preview. Also, and this is really annoying - the details don't state the size of videos. I'm not going to rundown Windows yet again, as I'm hoping I'm missing something simple.

Is there a way to get this feature back? I've worked hard to make 8 useable, but this little, yet much missed, detail eludes me. Although I'm sure more annoyances will come along .

View 7 Replies View Related

Move To Windows 8.1 - Thumbnail Cache Deletion

Jan 25, 2014

I think many people will move to windows 8.1 if Microsoft will fix the deleting of thumbnail cache in "Winodws 8.1 2014 Update".

View 2 Replies View Related

How To Stop Deletion Of Thumbnail Cache In Windows 8 And 8.1

Sep 24, 2013

Problem is whenever I sign in to my pc thumbnails cache automatically deletes And there is slow loading of icons and folders....

View 9 Replies View Related

Apps / Software :: PDF Files Not Show Thumbnail Previews?

Dec 27, 2012

PDF files on my laptop show thumbnail previews erratically. Sometimes they do and sometimes they don't. In the attached screenshot, you can see that Word is showing nicely but the PDF file won't. Default app is Reader (the Metro app).

View 9 Replies View Related

Browsers/Mail :: IE Only Showing Thumbnail In Desktop Mode

May 15, 2013

Yes, IE is only showing thumbnails on the desktop icon on the taskbar. I can't get it to show the proper window at all! It used to be OK. I'm sure it's something obvious.

View 3 Replies View Related

Windows Explorer Stops Showing Files Or No File Thumbnail

Aug 21, 2013

Annoying error of windows explorer. Windows explorer is getting crashed while opening any folders accidentally, especially folders with large number of files and images. first it appears as windows explorer is unable to load files thumbnails (any kind of files) and appears as white or blank icons regardless the type of file. then when opening my computer in another window , it couldn't load even contents of drivers and hangs as "searching for items".

All this happens suddenly after weeks of normal windows usage. I resolve it by backing up system using Acronis image. but the problem persists. I tried virus scan with no success using AVG. I made thorough scan for C with no result too.

Note that this problem I found with Windows 7 and it forced me to upgrade to Windows 8 then I'm experiencing the same problem now. I don't Understand why.

Note: I think there's no hardware (HDD) error cause I'm running Ubuntu 13.04 alongside Windows and it's browsing files perfectly.

View 6 Replies View Related

Apps / Software :: Windows 8.1 Forgets Thumbnail View In Explorer

Dec 24, 2013

My Windows 8.1 64 bit started forgetting the view settings from a folder.So if I go in a folder and I set it to List-View for example,whenever I close that folder and I reopen it the view is set automatically to Details view.And this applies to every folder in my computer except Desktop.It drives me crazy,especially in my pictures folders.

Also with this problem another one came.I can't set a program to open some files,so the file associations for some files is broken. For example i can't set qTorrent to open torrent files.It just won't open them and the files apear as white documents just like I hadn't had a Torrent program installed already.I find it weird that both problems appeared together.

I previously had to reinstall windows on my machine,because of this problems.It worked normal at the begging,but today these problems appeared again.I tried scanning SFC Scan with no result.

Update:I also just discovered that Metro apps are not working anymore...what the heck its wrong with my windows.

View 4 Replies View Related

Browsers/Mail :: Thumbnail View Of IE10 Metro Favorites

Jul 31, 2013

How do I arrange the favorites in IE10 METRO that appear below the address bar above the address bar to look like this:

See posting by chev65 07 Mar 2012

All I get is a long roll of frequently visited sites and favorite below the address bar.

View 1 Replies View Related

Maintenance :: Win 8 Keeps Deleting Thumbnail Cache (changed Folder Permission)

Oct 26, 2012

Normally in windows 7 I would change the folder persmission to deny "detele files and folders", but these options are greyed out on my windows 8. I'm the admin, and even if I log in as super administrator it's still greyed out.

How can I fix this problem and prevent Windows 8 from deleting thumbnail cache?

View 9 Replies View Related

CR2 Files (RAW Photo Files From Canon) As Thumbnail Icons In Windows Explorer?

Sep 19, 2012

I am trying to be able to see CR2 files (RAW photo files from Canon) as thumbnail icons in Windows Explorer. I am using Windows 8.

Microsoft's codec pack (Download: Microsoft Camera Codec Pack - Microsoft Download Center - Download Details) does not work for Windows 8. When I am trying to install it, I get an error message mentioning that I can use Windows 8 Update function, but doesn't give any more information on how to do this exactly.

View 6 Replies View Related

8.1 Preview Has Expired?

Jan 15, 2014

I was never given the option to upgrade to 8.1 official from the preview. Now the preview has just told me it expired and will reboot itself every couple hours. I'm in the middle of a huge project right now. I was actually planning to buy a new computer in the next week

View 9 Replies View Related

No Thumbnails For Pictures (JPG / BMP Or PNG)

Jul 19, 2014

I'm not getting any thumbnails showing for any of my pictures, .jpg, .bmp, .png, etc. I tried deleting C:UsersxxxxxxxxAppDataLocalIconCache.db then rebooting, no change.

I suspect I turned something off to see how but forgot to turn it back on. How do I get thumbnails to show for my pictures again.

I looked through gpedit but did not notice anything. This is what I'm seeing. I can change the icon that shows by changing the default program.

View 8 Replies View Related

Can't Disable Preview Windows

Apr 7, 2014

I'm trying to get rid of the small preview windows that apear above the taskbar in Win 8. I edited the registry at HKCUSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionExplorerAdvanced and added both a DisablePreviewWindow and DisablePreviewDesktop value and set them to 0x01. Still, the windows appear. UAC is entirely disabled.

View 2 Replies View Related

SSD And HDD - Pictures Folder Moved?

Apr 20, 2013

In the process of setting up my new computer with an SSD and HDD, I managed to delete the pictures folder. I got it back, but now when I click on the Pictures folder inside the libraries folder, all the data in my HDD comes up. Whatever I did, I somehow made my D: drive to the format of my pictures folder.

View 6 Replies View Related

All Libraries Shown In Pictures?

Aug 23, 2013

When I'm in file explorer and click on My Pictures, it shows all my libraries. I don't want it to do this. This does not occur when accessing any other library.

View 3 Replies View Related

How To Rearrange Photos In Pictures

Aug 27, 2014

I have just bought a new sony vaio laptop and I am operating windows 8.1 I have downloaded all my holidays photos into a folder, however, I want to rearrange them in a different order. I am unable to do this as the photos are being arranged in date & time order....and I cannot seem to change this. I have even 'renamed' the photos in the numerical order that I want, but the computer returns them back to date & time order.

View 9 Replies View Related

Win 8.1 - Open With Not Showing Up On PNG Pictures

Aug 27, 2014

I have an hp win 8.1 and in a folder full of pictures i right click there's no "Open With" ive tried downloading the remove and restore open with things.

View 1 Replies View Related

Win 8.1 Preview - Apps Or Programs?

Jun 25, 2013

Microsoft Talks About How Windows 8.1 Preview Will Work

On x86-based Windows systems, both Windows Store/Metro-Style and Desktop apps will need to be reinstalled.

Because some folks I talk to these days are mixing "apps" and "programs" into the same bag, I want to clarify something ... per the above quote, if I

1) install 8.1 preview; then,

2) install a program (not an app from the app store), like Photoshop ...

Will I have to re-install that program once I update to 8.1 RTM? Or, are the re-installs associated only with apps downloaded from the store?

View 1 Replies View Related

Choose Own Pictures Folders?

Mar 23, 2014

The Pictures Library in the Photos app/tile in Windows 8 doesn't offer me the option to choose my own pictures folders as it does my video ones. It only offers me to create a folder (I don't know where) or to import pictures from a camera or a cell phone, I suppose.

Is there any way for me to pick my own pictures folders instead of having to move my pictures into a Windows default folder only to have to move them again (or lose them)

View 3 Replies View Related

Copyrights 2005-15, All rights reserved